The Victoria Falls

Dr Livingstone was the first European to see the Victoria Falls in 1855. They are known locally as Mosi-Oa-Tunya or "the smoke that thunders" because of the spray made by the mass of water dropping 100 meters below in the gorges. Livingstone renamed the falls “Victoria Falls” in honour of Queen Victoria. 50 Years later, missionaries and traders settled in the small Zambian town of Livingstone and the railway bridge over the Zambezi was built.
The UNESCO proclaimed the Falls as a World Heritage Site, due to its unique nature. Nowadays, the Victoria Falls mark the border between Zambia and Zimbabwe.
There are currently 5 ways to enjoy the Falls: